An open letter to Rep. Roy Blunt

Posted: September 7, 2009 in Congressman Roy Blunt
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dear Mr. Blunt,

I recently read a blog post that Glenn Beck had tweeted out. It was written by a person who was obviously irritated with the RNC and his representatives silence about now “retired” Green Jobs Czar Van Jones. This blogger is so irritated with the silence that he claims he is officially done with the RNC and even the DNC. As he says, “from this moment on… for the rest of my life… I will never vote for either major party again.” His major frustration comes from the fact that none of his elected representatives had the courage to stand up and speak out on this person. I get concerned when I see someone like Beck promoting this mentality especially considering his ratings lately. A third party is not an issue that we need to contend with right now because the DNC will invariably stay united.

This post got me thinking about you. Frankly, I am getting a little irritated with the bland assumption that every conservative and Republican voter is just going to lay down and vote for you in 2010. Robin Carnahan is a talking point and nothing more. I think it’s possible she is more clueless than McCaskill. I without a doubt do not want Carnahan near the US Senate. Claire McCaskill does not need a girlfriend to go have coffee with in WADC. Her incompetence and unwillingness to listen to the people of Missouri is getting a little old.

Here’s the deal. You yourself has said nothing about Van Jones, or Cass Sunstein, or Mark Lloyd, or John Holdren. Where are your press releases denouncing these individuals? They are not on your campaign website, they haven’t been released on Twitter, they are not on Facebook. You took an oath to defend the constitution of the United States. FCC Diversity Chairman Mark Lloyd is on record as wanting to impose a tax on conservative talk radio that would equal 100% of their profits. My friend if you believe in that oath, you should be screaming from the roof top that you want answers! Even the moderate Kit Bond called for a congressional investigation into Jones. You are part of the Legislative branch of government and in that role it is your job to make sure you keep an eye on the Executive branch. Inaction and silence is dereliction of duty. 

Mr. Blunt it gets worse. First, you voted to spend billions of tax payer dollars to bail out the banking industry because as President George W. “Chicken Little” Bush said, the sky was falling. Then recently you voted for the cash for clunkers renewal. I can’t figure out if you are truly that detached from the average American or if you really believe in some of the things you voted for. For us out here in the real world it’s important that we put a little money into savings and don’t spend more than we bring in!

I have been telling many conservative friends that I will invariably hold my nose and vote for you in 2010. After all the stench of John McCain has long since passed, so I figure I can put up with round two. Once again I am left with the choice of the lesser of three evils; the Democrat, the moderate, or the third party nut job. I am telling you right now that if your silence continues on these radical Presidential appointments or if you vote for one more thing like Cash for Clunkers my patience will wear out. Who knows what a primary might bring?

I think back to the very first tea party that I attended, it was in the flying snow down at the Plaza in Kansas City early this year. The organizer had a letter written by you. There were quite a few boos that day when he started to read the letter. Half way through the thing most people were talking amongst theirselves and not listening to your words, I must admit I was one of them.

I joined the Libertarian Party at 18 because I saw the incompetence in the RNC and the DNC then. I came back to wanting to vote for RNC candidates out of the Libertarian Party several years ago because I was tired of the even greater incompetence there. This is your chance to shine, instead the RNC looks more like a falling star right now. Please don’t let that happen, this is the party of Reagan and Lincoln. It is the party of small government solutions that promote personal responsibility, not the party of corporate bailouts and more spending. This is the party that should be standing up and saying no more, you shall not pass! Instead it’s silent on some of the most important issues of the day.

Comments
  1. […] I without a doubt do not want Carnahan near the US Senate . Claire McCaskill does not need a girlfriend to go have coffee with in WADC. Her incompetence and unwillingness to listen to the people of Missouri is getting a little old. …Continue Reading… […]

  2. A Job well done. I have sent my last dollar to the RNC or NRCC. I don’t like everyone they support.

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      Make sure that you tell the RNC why! It’s very important they hear your voice. I reccommend sending a letter to Michael Steele through the RNC website. Please tell Mr. Blunt why as well. Don’t give up on the party just yet though, one last election here to see what they really are made of. There are some great local Republicans in MO as well. Odds are I will vote for Blunt if he is the final candidate for Senate but he needs not to expect my support for reelection if he acts like a RINO.

Leave a Reply

