ClayCoMoPolitics Takes On Mayor Funky and MAIG

Posted: January 23, 2010 in Kansas City, Mayor Mark Funkhouser, Second Amendment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Okay, I am done, I have had enough of Mayor Funkhouser. This is why I do not believe in bi-partisanship. Bi-partisanship should be translated as, violate your principles and values so we all can just get along. It fell apart about a month ago when I found out that our Mayor was a member of Mayors Against Illegal Guns (MAIG). I know, you are thinking, what’s wrong with being against “illegal guns”? Here is the catch, it’s a rhetorical device used to get you on the side of those that will do anything to deny American’s their Second Amendment rights. Below is a correspondence I had with the Mayor on this issue.

Here is the correspondence between the Mayor and I.

Mr. Mayor,

I have supported you for some time, defended you against the KC Star, and actually was considering voting for you in the next Mayoral primary. Well, not now. Resign from Mayors Against Illegal Guns! It’s a front group for taking away my second amendment rights. MAIG claims on its website that it wants to work with the NRA. That’s an outright lie!

See the below attached article.

Bloomberg’s Phantom Mayors http://www.nraila.org/Issues/Articles/Read.aspx?id=388&issue=011

Here is the Mayor’s response:

Dear Mr. Palmer,

I have no secret agenda.  I am opposed to illegal guns (and illegal aliens, illegal drugs, and most things illegal).  I have said on the record what Corey Booker says in this article – homicides in my town are not committed by people carrying legal weapons.  I support the 2nd Amendment (although no part of the constitution is “sacred” to me – it is foundational law for our country but it is not Holy Writ).  I will oppose the NRA when I think they are wrong – they are simply one more pressure group – just like La Raza.

I support our police – and they very much support the Mayors’ Coalition Against Illegal Guns.

This issue – illegal guns – is only one of many issues that matter to me and that I think are vital to the future of our city.  You and I are going to agree on some issues and disagree on others.  If there’s another candidate for Mayor with whom you agree on illegal guns, and you choose to support him or her despite their stance on other issues, that is, of course, your choice.  I hope you will continue to share your thoughts and opinions with me as long as I am your Mayor.  And when the next election rolls around I hope you change your mind and decide to support me.

All the best,

Mark

So I responded.
Mr. Funkhouser,

I do appreciate the response.

One question, maybe you could help me out here. Just what is an illegal gun? Considering the fact that every aspect of the firearm industry is controlled or regulated in one aspect or another, from manufacturer to point of sale. It’s hard to grasp what an “illegal gun” really is, other than a useless rhetorical device. It puts the blame on the wrong thing. The firearm is simply the means to the end in a crime, it’s not the problem, nor is it the cause.

That’s a heck of a stretch, comparing the NRA to La Raza. I assume you did that as just an example of an interest group, but I worry that you might be saying that the 1 million plus members of Americans who support the NRA are just as extreme as the racists in La Raza. I really doubt that’s what you are saying, but you might want to clear that up.

You do not support the 2nd Amendment if you support Mayor’s Against Illegal Guns. I am sorry, you can believe that all you want, the reality of the situation is as such. MAIG has attempted to repeal the privacy protections of the Tiahrt amendment and lobbied against right to carry reciprocity. I assume that you know that this group was started by Mayor Bloomberg and that he has repeatedly used personal money to lobby against the law abiding freedoms of millions of Americans? Maybe he could be spending his millions on helping police officers fight crime, reducing poverty inside of his city, and prosecuting criminals to the fullest extent of the law instead of infringing upon the rights of millions of law abiding citizens.

Mayor, 80 mayors have resigned from MAIG in the last 2 months, nearly 20% of those originally signed up to MAIG. You can be 81, I hope you open your eyes to what is really going on.

Best Regards

The Mayor briefly continued:

Dear Mr. Palmer

The most common type of illegal gun is one that has been stolen.

There are people who admire La Raza and do not see them as racists.  There are also people who admire the NRA.  Each is a lobby group created to advance a political position.

I believe my eyes are wide open.

If 80 mayors have resigned from MAIG to avoid political risk, so be it.  I do what I believe right regardless of the political consequences.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

All the best,

Mark

Well, I should have known. Why was I surprised though? The Mayor has consistently been a supporter of Obama. A tweet the other day said it all. “Despite all the critcism (sic) I hear, everytime (sic) I hear a senior administration official I have renewed confidence in the President.”

I mean, really? The same President who nominated a communist to be the Green Jobs Czar, Van Jones. The same President who seems to have no trouble with FCC Diversity Czar Mark Lloyd. The same President who stated on Wednesday that the reason Massachusetts voters voted for Scott Brown is because they were angry at Bush. The same President who continues to not listen to American’s as he tries to ram a health care bill down our throats that we don’t want. Yeah, Mr. Mayor, renewed confidence in Obama, whatever you say.

Kansas City, this mayor, is out of touch with reality, he must be dealt with after we get through November. As much as we thought that he may have been a “conservative” Democrat. I believe the proof is in the pudding, or, the leftist positions the Mayor currently holds.

Dear Mr. Palmer

The most common type of illegal gun is one that has been stolen.
There are people who admire La Raza and do not see them as racists.  There are also people who admire the NRA.  Each is a lobby group created to advance a political position.
I believe my eyes are wide open.
If 80 mayors have resigned from MAIG to avoid political risk, so be it.  I do what I believe right regardless of the political consequences.
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.
All the best,

Mark
Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrew Palmer and Billy McKee, Todd Inman. Todd Inman said: ClayCoMoPolitics Takes On Mayor Funky and MAIG « Political …: Resign from Mayors Against Illegal Guns! It's a fr… http://bit.ly/6WAkek […]

Leave a Reply

