Best Buy, Van Jones, and the lack of a backbone

Posted: February 3, 2010 in Scary People Working in Washington
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m sorry, is it just me, or, is there any rational thought left in America? Van Jones, remember him, the disgraced Green Jobs czar that resigned from the White House because America figured out that he was a 9/11 truther and a self-avowed communist. I realize it’s just a typical association for our Progressive President, but it’s not OK with me to have him near our government. Well, he’s back, and this time he will speak at the State of Green Business Forum 2010 event with several American corporations. One of which was my former favorite electronics retailer, Best Buy.

Best Buy’s Senior VP of Emerging Business Rick Rommel will be joining Van at this conference. I decided to e-mail Best Buy’s customer service in protest of this. Here is what I said.

This is not related to product and customer service, but it is a concern I have. I love Best Buy, and enjoy shopping in your stores. I recently noticed in an article online that one of your executives, Rick Rommel will be speaking on the same stage as Van Jones in San Francisco at the State of Green Business Forum. Van Jones is a self-avowed communist, his words, not mine. He signed a document that accused our own government of the 9/11 attacks. He is a dangerous radical that has no business having input on anything green or business.Your executive speaks, I quit buying products at Best Buy.

Respectfully,

Andrew

Now one would think that any rational company, a company that truly cared about America and American values, wouldn’t send an executive to speak in the same city as this piece of trash, let alone the same event. Then again one wouldn’t think we are living in rational times considering current events.

I never expected Best Buy to respond. But they did, so I thought it prudent to share this with everyone that reads my blog. Here is their response.

Hey Andrew,

First let me thank you for your inquiry and apologize for the delayed response.  Andrew while I completely understand your email and it clearly points out your stance, the conference is not about and bigger than Mr. Jones political views and this is why Rick is attending.  The conference has support from some of the biggest corporations in the nation in an effort to educate and brainstorm on how companies can work more efficiently using green technologies.  The focus of the conference is an awesome concept and personal politics are not involved in any way.  Andrew I’m truly sorry that you’re considering leaving our family due to this event, believe me we definitely don’t want to lose you.  I hope that you understand the conferences’ overall objective and reconsider continuing to be a Best Buy member.  Please let me know if you have any other questions and I’ll be more than happy to assist you further, thanks!

Best regards,
Quintin

Here, let me translate this for you. “You dumb American consumer, you are not smart enough to understand the importance of green jobs. You must realize that we don’t live in a time of rational thinking and moral values. Instead we live in a time period where the end justifies the means, that reality can be created if we so decide, and that principles don’t matter. Surely you can look past this transgression and see that, well, your just a dumb-dumb-dummy and that we know best. But, please keep buying stuff in our stores, because we have America’s best interests at heart, really. Didn’t you hear, the world is going to end, Algore told us so.”

What’s funny is, I never even called into question the issue of green jobs, my whole comment was directed at the fact that Van Jones IS A 9/11 TRUTHER AND A COMMUNIST!

Please join me in boycotting Best Buy. They lack a backbone! Consider sending your own e-mail, and if you have time, send one to these other companies as well:

Microsoft

IBM

Intel

Best Buy’s customer service can be e-mailed here: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=cat12104&type=page

Comments
  1. […] Read the rest at Political Meanderings in Clay County Missouri. […]

    • Clay County home of Jessie James USA Civil War terrriorist. I guess the nuts are still not falling far from the terrorist trees in Clay County.

      You are trying to suppress free speech in the interest of “freedom” by boycotting private sector companies and paid, for-profit business events in the interest of anti-communism. What is America coming to! What next next the blood lible of The Protocols of Zion.

  2. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    Morris,

    Thanks for this intellectually sound rebuttal. First, it’s Jesse James, not that I care, but just wanted to point that out to you. Second, thanks for calling me a racist, I think. Only a Democrat or Progressive could use this line of thinking as an argument. Third, I don’t celebrate the murdering piece of trash, just like I don’t support communism. Which if you knew your history well, you would know that the countries that have instituted communism have killed nearly 70+ million people over the last century. What’s that matter, right?

    Not trying to suppress free speech. I am making a stand against an immoral political system, the fact that a corporation has no principles, and is not researching the facts. Van Jones is a self avowed communist, there are videos online from the last year that prove this. Van Jones is a 9/11 truther, indisputable fact. You obviously have no problem with this, calls into question your moral character.

    Not sure what the Protocols of Zion has to do with this, that’s about as nutty as Communism. You see, I am not religious, at all, so nice assumption. Nice stretch. Doesn’t work.

    Good question though. What is America coming too? When a seemingly intelligent human being, like yourself, is unable to be offended by a for-profit company taking the stage with a self-avowed communist. Dang good question!

    Morris this is a capitalist nation, while people have the right to state any opinion they have. So do I. My opinion is Best Buy no longer deserves to trade with me.

    So, in the name of free speech!

    Andrew

  3. Well thanks for the name spell check but even a casual reading reveals that I did not call you a racist but I did make the terrorist connection. You may indeed be a racist I would have to check all your blogs to find that out. However, creating a boycott of a firm, for participating in a conference that is focusing on how to be more efficient using green techologies that has a wide range of participants, is the method of “true belivers” that has given us the 9-11 terrorists and Pol Pot in Cambodia. Does yelling commie still work in Clay County – I guess it does for you.

  4. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    Once again Morris, you are missing the point here. Attending a conference with a self-avowed communist and a 9/11 truther and standing by as if it’s okay because the ends justifies the means IS the problem. It’s not the green technologies, that doesn’t bother me at all. I have no problems with being more efficient.

    Your criticism doesn’t work no matter how much you try to create your own reality. Maybe if I put it in capital letters you will understand it better. VAN JONES IS A SELF-AVOWED COMMUNIST. Maybe the hyphenated phrase is too much for you to get, but it means he said he was a communist. I am yelling commie, because, well, he is a commie. That’s not ok, on any level, it’s his right to say so, it’s my right to make it public knowledge and be offended at it.

    Here are his own words:

    In a Nov. 2, 2005, profile of Jones in the East Bay Express , an alternative weekly in Berkeley, Calif., Jones said his life hit a turning point in the spring of 1992 when he was swept up in mass arrests while protesting the acquittal of police officers accused of beating Rodney King.

    Although the charges against Jones were dropped, Jones said that while in jail, “I met all these young radical people of color — I mean really radical, communists and anarchists. And it was, like, ‘This is what I need to be a part of.’ I spent the next 10 years of my life working with a lot of those people I met in jail, trying to be a revolutionary.”

    “In the months that followed,” the Express article said, “he let go of any lingering thoughts that he might fit in with the status quo. ‘I was a rowdy nationalist on April 28th, and then the verdicts came down on April 29th,’ he said. ‘By August, I was a communist.'”

  5. So he is a communist and you make your whole weltanschauung as an anti-communist – BFD. Stick and stones… get a real life. Start a blog that articulates real concrete issues that help solve real problems for the average American. You world view is so last millennium. But screaming is more your style.

  6. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    That’s just it Morris, it is a big deal. A person that is okay with the communist political philosophy is an enemy of private enterprise, and enemy of America, and is incapable of benefiting society. That’s okay, I must not have learned this when I studied this stuff in college. I mean what do I know, I only have a BA in Political Science. I must have missed the lesson where they taught us that it’s okay to be a moral relativist and that things like this do not matter as long as the person is pursuing something good.

    I have a life actually, thanks.

    My worldview is so last millennium. Hmmm…. Well that was a striking intellectual rebuttal as well. I suppose if you look at the fact that communism probably killed 70 million people in the last millennium then yeah, I suppose it is. But I don’t think that demonstrates the point you were trying to make.

    You want to talk concrete. Okay. Our President and his associations with people like this are in complete contradiction to the moral and philosophical heritage of this nation. It’s in contradiction to freedom. So yes, I will continue to fill my blog with information that helps inform more Americans to the information that matters so they will not make this same mistake twice. I suspect I am not getting to far with you.

    Not yelling, I’m just telling you how it is.

    Morris, please keep it up. You are educating people really well on what ignorance is. Good day.

  7. Martha says:

    Communism in the 20th century produced the greatest bloodshed in one century than all previous wars in recorded history. The bloodthirsty beasts who murdered so many did so in the name of the “workers.” They murdered their opposition – always squelching free speech, free assembly, free expression of religion – all religion was outlawed.

    Communists killed more people than any religion in all the religious wars in recorded history.

    This philosophy spurred on monsters who despised the liberties of all people. Anyone today who supports this philosophy is ignorant of its abuses, supports these ruthless killings in the name of an abstract ideal that always translates into horrible bloodbaths, cynical and a hater of his fellow humans, or too young and poorly educated to know better or an elitist who believes he stands above the common wretches like me.

    Here are estimates of Communist-regime body counts in the 20th century:

    Lenin/Trotsky – 8 million murdered; Stalin – 25-40 million murdered; Mao Tse Dong – 60-80 million murdered; Pol Pot – 2 million; Castro – 1 million.

    Naive fools believe in the “workers’ paradise.” Cynical rabble rousers like Van Jones exhort these fools into doing their killing dirty work.

  8. Stalin, Tortsky, Mao, and you are all in the dust bin of history.

  9. Nathan Phillips says:

    Morris can a liberal have a political conversation without getting nasty people that don’t agree with your liberal philosophy want to stifle free speech but yet isn’t what this sites all about. Libertarians and conservative relish free speech it is the left that loves it until we disagree then we are hate mongers and racist. Sad so much hypocrisy it must be terrible living the way you do a walking contradiction.

  10. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    Morris, stay with us here. That last statement only had 15 syllables in it, and it made no sense.

    I am waiting for your rebuttal. I mean, something that at least demonstrates some basic understanding of the concepts we are talking about.

    The dust bin of history. Ha! That’s clever, considering that I have never seen so many Americans involved politically. I have never seen so much interest in American history and the constitution. This nation resoundingly is conservative and believes in the documents that founded it. So, no, dust bin we are not.

    • Yes the people are involved and the “yes we can” people are able to distinguish between real political dialogue and name calling. The last Presidential election the “yes we can” people gave the largest vote victory for a non-incumbent since FDR. So your “belief” that this is a “conservative and libertarian” country is based on wishful thinking and political braying and not on sound political analysis. As a “political scientist” read Theodore J. Lowi’s “The End of the Republican Era”; your conservative coalition of the Reagan Era could not survive because of the seeds of your demise lie in your rejection of pluralism (e.g., Wall Street and Main Street acceptance of market economics) and your embrace of narrow moral absolutism (e.g., Focus on the Family and Sarah Palin). Conservatism does not trust democracy, secular or otherwise and thus you are left with empty ideology that collapses and leaves you with nothing but name calling. I send someone down to clean out your dust bin if you like.

  11. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    Morris, you’re delusional too I see. That’s why the Democrats lost Massachusetts, right? The end of conservatism. That’s why Democrats are loosing in the polls for Senate in New Hampshire which Obama won. Democrats are loosing in the polls for Senate in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, Nevada, possibly North Dakota (dependent upon the candidate), Florida, Pennsylvania, and Ohio. Boxer is only leading in the Peoples Republic of California by 3 against Fiorina and 6 against Chuck Devore, who is more of a tea party candidate.

    I don’t embrace moral absolutism, thanks. You don’t even know my positions on those specific issues, so don’t pretend that you do. But I would much rather see candidates that believe in people, than those that believe in spending the people’s money.

    By the way, you still haven’t responded to the fact that you seem to have nothing wrong communism. Did you know Mr. “Yes We Can’s” mentor was the radical communist poet Frank Marshall Davis in high school? Or, did you know that Barry’s pastor for 20 years was a radical racist by the name of Jeremiah Wright? You want to talk about morality, my friend, you don’t understand the concept.

  12. One election does not make a trend – you lost the presidential election with your commie meme. Go on being the schoolmarm looking under beds for commies – meanwhile there is real work to be done!

Leave a Reply

