The story of Clay County Auditor candidate William James Norris gets even stranger

Posted: October 24, 2010 in 2010 Elections, Clay County Auditor
Tags: , , ,

For those that have been following the story of Clay County Auditor Republican William James Norris they have learned that there is something amiss. Things got a little stranger today.

About two months ago a weird Twitter feed sprung up with the name Jeff Smith. The Twitter handle was @votegopclayco. It seemed a little fishy because many of the tweets were solely focused around William James Norris. Norris has numerous questions revolving around his candidacy which include whether or not he is actually a certified CPA, whether he graduated from William Jewell, and why Norris has three restraining orders filed against him in his past. At times “Mr. Smith” was incredibly rude and insulting in his post. Most of insults were thrown at one of three people; me, Democrat Auditor candidate Sheila Ernzen or Northland Young Republicans President Chris Till. I have often suspected that Jeff Smith was a real person on the Internet that William Norris was using as a front to communicate through. While I cannot 100% prove this, I believe that William Norris is improperly using the identity of Jeff Smith. You will draw the same conclusion by the end of this blog post.

Here is the @votegopclayco Twitter feed as it looked up to this morning.

The real Jeff Smith is from Dallas, Texas and works in the real estate sector. Please take a close look at the image above and now go to this website: http://dallas.transwestern.net/team_member.asp?pid=155 You will find an extensive bio on Jeff Smith and you will see that he has nothing to do with the Liberty, MO area. You will also find the exact same photo that was on the Jeff Smith Twitter account. Here is the bio:

Jeff L. Smith – Principal

TRANSWESTERN ROLE

As a Principal for Transwestern, Jeff Smith specializes in corporate advisory services and consulting needs for national as well as local corporate customers. Jeff has completed multiple assignments in other major markets as well as secondary markets throughout the United States.

CAREER HIGHLIGHTS

Jeff has experience representing many high profile customers, including Countrywide Mortgage and Wells Fargo for acquisition and disposition, as well as consulting. Prior to joining Transwestern, Jeff was a Director at Cawley International where he worked with multiple healthcare providers and build-to-suit projects. He strives to educate his customers on the best options available based upon their needs and circumstances to increase shareholder value.

Jeff has completed multiple assignments ranging in size from 1,500 square feet to over 100,000 sq ft. Jeff remains one of the top producers at Transwestern and has received numerous awards within the real estate community.

Jeff also has 15 years of experience in the financial services arena, where he learned to analyze the financial models of landlords, which has helped him tremendously understand how best to represent his clients.

PROFESSIONAL AFFILIATIONS/RECOGNITION

  • North Texas Commercial Association of Realtors (NTCAR)
  • Texas Association of Realtors
  • National Association of Realtors
  • Volunteer for the Kidney Foundation
  • Volunteer for the Multiple Sclerosis Foundation

EDUCATION

Jeff received his bachelor’s of business administration degree in finance from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas. He is a licensed Texas Real Estate broker.

Now one might say, well maybe Jeff Smith moved to the Liberty area and is now actually a resident here. That might make sense if it wasn’t for the exchange I had with Mr. Smith a couple weeks ago on Twitter. Mr. Smith told me that he had extensive experience within education. But if that’s true, then the above biography would not be true. Here is a screen shot from Tweetdeck of that exchange with “Mr. Smith.” Please notice his comment at 3:06 PM on Sept. 26th. I especially appreciate the insult stated on the fourth comment below.

Mr. Norris has felt that I wronged him in the past by not giving him the ability to respond, so I confronted Mr. Norris through email this morning warning that I would make this all public and would communicate this to the real Jeff Smith if I did not receive a response. Here is the response that I received from Mr. Norris earlier today. :

Andrew,
I’m not sure what you are talking about, but I’m not stopping anything.  I don’t impersonate people on twitter because no one reads that thing anyway.  The only people that read my twitter are me, sheila, and people who have no lives.. Like you Chris Till, etc.. etc…

I’m going to win this election.  You see, there are a lot of people in the County upset about the mailer that Sheila put out.  I’m actually out door to door as I type this on my phone. I have almost 300 lawn signs up now, and it will be 400 by the end of this week.  ive been going door to door every day.  I’m going to win.  Sheila knows I’m inching in on her job and she’s getting desperate.  That mailer was the last sign of her desperation.  I think its funny.

On November 2 the Voters will decide who the new auditor is.  If I win I assure you I will do the job as it should be done.  Believe it or not Andrew, I have good intentions with this.  If I lose I will go back to my corporate position and continue my life as I have for the last few years.  You can rest assured that no matter who wins the election that someone will be there to do the job properly.  Sheila or myself.  Both are qualified for the job.

My question is, when are you going to step out and run for something?  You’re always flapping your gums about politics.  Get in the arena and see how you like it.
SO with all of that, do what you need to do.  I’m not Jeff Smith.  I don’t impersonate Jeff Smith.
Thanks,
William Norris

Sometime today the @votegopclayco Twitter feed profile picture was changed to a Chiefs logo. It apparently happened sometime after I confronted Mr. Norris. A strange coincidence I’m sure. Here is a screen shot of the new @votegopclayco Twitter feed.

I think the church comment was a real nice touch. Especially if you go back through some of “Mr. Smith’s” previous statements and find something like this one.

In case you can’t read it, it is directed at Ms. Ernzen, and states “Just because you pump out a unit every 9 months isn’t our problem. Elect Norris and the County saves 60k in the 1st year.” A very Christian comment I might add.

I think it is safe to say we know what is going on here Mr. Norris.

If you live in Clay County please do your civic duty and tell your neighbors, friends, and families about this candidate. Could you imagine him auditing the books of this county? Integrity is like math, 1 + 1 is 2 and Mr. Norris seems to think it’s 3 one day, and then maybe something else the next.

Comments
  1. slagforcedelta says:

    Nicely done. I suspect Mr. Smith doesn’t know his image and name have been hijacked.

  2. Sam H says:

    In addition to being a stalker, it now appears Norris is an identity thief. He has to either be a pathological liar or have a severe case of delusional disorder. Thanks for keeping us informed about this twit and his pathetic antics.

Leave a Reply

