I attended the Clay County Republican Central Committee meeting last night to see what the after election response would be. There was lots of excitement, lots of applause, lots of congratulations, and a few speeches given by our newly elected and existing election officials.

On hand was Myron Neth (MO-34 Elect), TJ Berry (MO-35 Elect), Pam Mason (Clay County Presiding Commissioner Elect), and Clay County Commissioner Katee Porter. All candidates were given 3-4 minutes, with opportunity for questions from the Committee and then the public.

Mr. Neth spoke on his priorities and hopes for the next couple years. His number one focus is the budget, he hopes to be put on the education committee down at Jeff City (personally it is my hope, too!), and a focus on cleaning up the books as well of many areas of government.

Mr. Berry spoke on the importance of getting people to the polls. I hadn’t heard about his last minute transfer of funds to Representative Elect Ron Schreiber over in Platte County for one last robo-dial. By the way, Mr. Schreiber beat his opponent Representative (I use the title as loosely as possible) Jason Grill by 160 votes. Mr. Berry said his focus is on working to create jobs in Jefferson City. I spoke with Mr. Berry afterward, and I must say I am thoroughly impressed with this man. He told me that he kept track of the people that were the most vile to him during the campaign when he was out knocking on doors. In the last week since the election, he has gone back and talked to three of them. How about that!? Mr. Berry also accepted my call for him to post his votes on his Facebook page when he makes them in Jeff City. How about that for open and honest transparency. MO-35 we are in for a treat!

Pam Mason spoke on issues in Clay County. She is determined to cut taxes and called for shared sacrifice in the county. I’m with her there! I put Ms. Mason on the spot about newly elected Auditor and all around alleged liar William (Bill) James Norris. Ms. Mason stated that she knew of the issues with Mr. Norris and has only spoken to him once. She said that she told him on the phone, “If in fact what they are saying is true, I will do everything in my power to make sure you don’t hurt Clay County and get rid of him.” After the meeting I presented Ms. Mason with a letter that I have disclosed below. Also presented were a copy of all of the documentation on Mr. Norris on Missouri Case.net, those are available below as well.

Mr. Porter spoke on reducing the size and scope of Clay County Government. She repeated the importance of Ms. Mason’s proposed “shared sacrifice.” I asked Ms. Porter the same question that I had asked Ms. Mason. Ms. Porter mentioned that she was very concerned and would do her best to keep an eye on Mr. Norris and his actions as auditor. I presented Ms. Porter with the same documents as Ms. Mason and gave a copy to her for Larry Larson, the other Clay County Commissioner.

The letter given to the commissioners:

I have been contacted by several concerned citizens over the last week regarding the election of William James Norris. There is a lot of outrage and many people are ready for action against this individual. Below are several questions regarding our new Clay County Auditor William (Bill) James Norris that I would like addressed over the next couple of weeks.

1)      Mr. Norris appears to have several cases online at Missouri Case.net regarding legal issues. I have included copies of the docket entries for four of them. Most disconcerting is that three of these cases involve restraining orders. I have been told by a source that a contingency of one of these cases is that he was not even to use social media. Is there anything here that may legally prevent him from taking office?

  1. 05B5-CR00192 – ST V WILLIAM JAMES NORRIS
  2. 04CV62703 – PROTECTION ORDER
  3. 05AG-CV00202 – PROTECTION ORDER
  4. 06AE-CV01917- PROTECTION ORDER

2)      Mr. Norris claimed at one point in the election that he worked for a company in Central Iowa by the name of All-American Enterprises as an auditor. I cannot find a company in Central Iowa by that name. Mr. Norris refused to produce any evidence to me of the company existing or his employment there. I have been told by a source close to Mr. Norris’ that he was not an auditor for this company and in fact a limo driver. I contacted White Knight Limo and they confirmed Bill Norris as a driver for them. Can you ask Mr. Norris to produce evidence of his past employment as an auditor? As a side note here, I am having Mr. Norris’ personal financial disclosure pulled at the Missouri Ethics Commission and will know for a fact what his claimed employment history was if he decides to lie about this issue.

3)      Mr. Norris claimed that he was a CPA early in the election, but a search for Mr. Norris’ certificate in Missouri shows no CPA certification. He told me through email that his certification had expired and he failed to renew it. Can you please ask him to produce his old certification certificate for public scrutiny?

4)      Mr. Norris has claimed that he was a graduate of William Jewell College. The college has stated publicly that there is no record of Mr. Norris graduating from Jewell. He even went as far to post a copy of his degree on his Facebook candidate page. I had a graduate of Jewell comment on my blog that the diploma he produced was fraudulent. Can you please ask Mr. Norris produce his diploma and college transcripts for public scrutiny proving in fact that he has a degree in accounting from William Jewell College?

5)      I have been told that a candidate must be bonded to take office. I have talked with some that believe that this may not be possible because of his legal problems. Is this true, and what happens if he turns out to not get a bond for office?

6)      I get the sense that issues regarding this man will plague Clay County Government for the next several years if unaddressed. If the above turns out to show a pattern of dishonesty and lies, will you join others in demanding that Mr. Norris resign as auditor?

I have been told that there may not be much we can actually do to prevent him from taking office. Even if we can’t, it is the responsibility of an elected official, in the eyes of such public scrutiny, to answer charges of such outright dishonesty as listed above. The reason I am appealing to you is that you are an elected official in Clay County Government and have access to Mr. Norris more than I would. If I was in your shoes, I would do everything I could to put pressure on Mr. Norris to answer to these charges, and if they are in fact true, demand that he do the right thing and resign his position and apologize to the voters of Clay County.

I have busted my butt for the last 10 years to put myself through college, obtain a Master degree, and help support my family. I strive daily to be honest and devote countless hours in my job to better the lives of students in my classroom. Mr. Norris will make $66,000, and from what I understand the county officials like him will receive a pay increase at the beginning of the year. Morally, the citizens of Clay County, have a duty to demand more of our elected officials. It is my hope that you as a Clay County Commissioner will use your office to shed more light on this man.

Best regards,

Andrew Palmer

Editor https://claycomopolitics.wordpress.com

2nd Vice President Clay County Pachyderm Club

Case.net Files on William James Norris

While I fully acknowledge that this effort above could be fruitless, it is worth a shot. Stay tuned as this continues to develop.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrew, ConservativeElephant. ConservativeElephant said: RT @claycopolitics: Report from the #ClayCountyMO Republican Central Committee Meeting last night http://bit.ly/de28qH #KansasCity #Miss … […]

  2. Don Brown says:

    Does anyone know yet if Norris has filed a bond with the county? What happens if he doesn’t get it?

  3. Tom Rickman says:

    We cannot allow this guy to be sworn in. What can we do from a legal standpoint to prevent it? Does the Clay County Election Board have any responsibility to vet these candidates?

Leave a Reply

