I was going through some old emails and I found this. I totally forgot to post Mr. Funkhouser’s responses to a few questions. For those that may remember, I was once a large fan of the Funk. My passion has severely waned over the years. I am neutral on his reelection at this time.

I was very concerned about Mr. Funkhouser’s connection with the nut Mayor Michael Bloomberg in New York, especially in relation to Bloomberg’s anti-gun crusade through the Mayors Against Illegal Guns crusade. You can find the original post here.

1.  I do not see myself as a “liberal.”  I am an independent.  I have been to New York on numerous occasions – I like the city a lot – but I have never gone to New York to meet with Mayor Bloomberg.  I have, of course, met him a few times, but those meetings were as part of another agenda.  He and I were both at the U.S. Conference of Mayors in Providence last year, and we were both in Washington D.C. a couple of years ago to testify in front of a Senate committee on the issue of infrastructure.
2.  I’m not sure I see the comment you quote as either “hateful” or “spiteful.”  I also don’t see the next Tim McVeigh in the midst of the Tea Party.  We’ve come to the point with regards to politically correct speech that something “terrible” can be quoted from anyone.  My support for Mayors’ Against Illegal Guns has nothing to do with my views of Mayor Bloomberg or his political interests.  I’m sure our interests diverge widely on many topics.
3.  I respect the 2nd Amendment but I certainly do not see it as “the most sacred of all rights.”  I am for the rule of law and opposed to illegal guns.  Illegal guns are those that are obtained and owned in ways contrary to existing laws.
For the record, his third response greatly concerns me. The “illegal gun” argument is a BS argument put forth by liberals to make you buy their crap on 2nd Amendment issues. It boils down to one of two things; Mayor Funkhouser is blissfully ignorant on what MAIG is, or he knows exactly what he is doing and is hiding behind the bogus “illegal guns” argument. A supporter of the 2nd amendment would not support MAIG, plain and simple.
Leave a Reply

