Please note, this post is not finalized, and will be an evolving document.

While I generally understand basic principles in economics, enough to know that our President is clueless when it comes to the matter, I would not consider myself an expert on the topic. So, I have decided that one of my personal goals for 2011 is to make myself an expert on the topic. Knowledge and education is power, and one of the beauties of this country is that you have the information readily available to learn from at an affordable price. Yes, I know, it is so much easier to be a sheep and know more about “The Situation” and the latest TV craze than things that actually matter, but I don’t subscribe to this theory of existence.

I would like for you to join me on this quest. I will be reading texts and Internet resources over the coming weeks and months. I am not going to waste my time on Keynes, this guy and his economic theories have been disproved time and time again by history, and currently they are being destroyed by current events. By the way, President Obama, yeah, he’s a Keynesian. I currently consider myself a novice Austrian, it’s an economic theory of rational thinking and true free-markets.

My reading list is as follows:

Books:

America’s Financial Apocalypse: How to Profit from the Next Great Depression by Michael George Stathis ISBN: 0975577670 Read my review!

End the Fed by Ron Paul ISBN: 9780446549172 210 Pages. Read my review.

The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Great Depression by Robert Murphy ISBN: 9781596980969

Meltdown: A Free-Market Look at Why the Stock Market Collapsed, the Economy Tanked, and Government Bailouts Will Make Things Worse by Thomas E. Woods, Jr. ISBN: 9781596985872 (Read my Review)

America’s Great Depression by Murray N. Rothbard ISBN:

Causes of the Economic Crisis by Ludwig von Mises ISBN:

Economics for Real People by Gene Callahan ISBN: 9780945466413

Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt

Fiat Money Inflation in France by Andrew Dickson White ISBN: 9781610160827

The Case for Gold Ron Paul and Lewis Lehrman ISBN: 9781610160537

The Case Against the Fed by Murray N. Rothbard ISBN: 9780945466178

Understanding the Dollar Crisis by Percy Greaves ISBN: 9781610161039

What Has Government Done to our Money by Murray N. Rothbard ISBN: 9781610161428

The Mystery of Banking by Murray N. Rothbard ISBN:

The Age of Inflation by Hans F. Sennholz ISBN:

A History of American Currency by William Graham Summer ISBN:

A Choice in Currency by Friedrich A. Hayek ISBN:

The Ethics of Money Production by Jorg Guido Hulsmann ISBN:

The Theory of Money and Credit by Ludwig Von Mises ISBN:

The Gold Standard: An Austrian Perspective by Llewellyn H. Rockwell, Jr. ISBN:

Money, Bank, Credit, and Economic Cycles by Jesus Huerta de Soto ISBN:

More to be added later!

Online Resources and Papers:

Campaign for Liberty Economics Page

America’s Second Great Depression Year-End Update by Michael Stathis (Part-1) (Part-2) (Part-3) This is a three-part series of articles that updates Stathis’ predictions.

Understanding Manipulation of Gold By the Media by Michael Stathis. I don’t buy into gold as a smart investment. Stathis makes an excellent argument for why people should stay out of gold. It is NOT a hedge against inflation or hyper-inflation and it is yet another bubble being pumped by the media. The thing that is most frustrating is that it is being pumped by the conservative media more than anything.

Learn Austrian Economics | Tom Woods’ Website

More to be added later!

Comments
  1. Great site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

  2. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I
    was wondering which blog platform are you using for this
    site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had
    issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after browsing through many of the posts I
    realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I
    came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    regularly!

Leave a Reply

