Glenn Beck’s letter to the American people regarding shooting in Arizona

Posted: January 10, 2011 in Glenn Beck
Tags: , , ,

I highly encourage you to read this letter from Glenn Beck to the people regarding the reprehensible behavior on Saturday January 8th by the terrorist Jared Lee Loughner.

http://www.glennbeck.com/2011/01/10/glenns-letter-to-the-american-people-politicians-and-media/

After that, please join me in taking his pledge.

  • I denounce violence, regardless of ideological motivation.
  • I denounce anyone, from the Left, the Right or middle, who believes physical violence is the answer to whatever they feel is wrong with our country.
  • I denounce those who wish to tear down our system and rebuild it in their own image, whatever that image may be.
  • I denounce those from the Left, the Right or middle, who call for riots and violence as an opportunity to bring down and reconstruct our system.
  • I denounce violent threats and calls for the destruction of our system – regardless of their underlying ideology – whether they come from the Hutaree Militia or Frances Fox Piven.
  • I hold those responsible for the violence, responsible for the violence.  I denounce those who attempt to blame political opponents for the acts of madmen.
  • I denounce those from the Left, the Right or middle that sees violence as a viable alternative to our long established system of change made within the constraints of our constitutional Republic.

To any on the left or right who ridicule Mr. Beck, I do not understand you. Admittedly, he has said some colorful things in the past, but when you look at the whole of his message, you see that his intentions are good. Recently, his actions speak volumes about who he is. His show is currently focused on making America a better place by challenging every individual to make their own life better. It is also focused on encouraging people to use their individual talents to improve America. Our political climate is full of little children who fashion themselves as adults. Mr. Beck, as much as people want him to be, is not one of those children.

I challenge you to watch Mr. Beck and make your own judgements. He is not who you may think him to be.

Comments
  1. Becky DiBerardino says:

    Very well said. Hopefully, it will make folks think twice before judging solely on hearsay and the nay-sayers, who reflect nothing but resentment and bitterness. They seem to preach tolerance and “giving everyone a chance” but turn around and ridicule with little to no facts, it seems.
    I think Glenn putting it “out on the table” frighens the folks rather than them letting it be educational and eye-opening so that they may respond accordingly and civilly; Perhaps they just don’t know how.

  2. Julie says:

    Why has it taken Beck so long to denounce violence. There has been at least three threats and/or violent actions linked to Beck.

    Search on Glenn Beck on Wikipedia – before criticizing Wikipedia as an excuse to defend Beck, use the many footnotes that have links to the source of information

    Beck will say anything for ratings and money. In 2009, he says he is an entertainer. “I’m a rodeo clown,” he said in an interview, adding with a coy smile, “It takes great skill.”

    Around 2009, Beck also said that anyone that anyone that believes everything he says is a fool.

    He has a very long history of violent rhetoric and making false or misleading statements. Go to PolitiFact or Fact Check to read some of his many lies.

    Quoting Glenn Beck (do a search to verify, Beck’s fans have very selective memories about their hero) I could fill many pages with the horrible things Beck has said. Sadly, Beck’s fans will not read the information or they will make excuses for him.

    “I’m thinking about killing Michael Moore, and I’m wondering if I could kill him myself, or if I would need to hire somebody to do it. No, I think I could. I think he could be looking me in the eye, you know, and I could just be choking the life out. Is this wrong? ”
    “Every night I get down on my knees and pray Dennis Kucinich will burst into flames.”

    “I want to kill Charlie Rangel with a shovel.”

    “drive a stake through the blood suckers.”

    “To the day I die, I am going to be a progressive hunter.”

    “they are taking you to be slaughtered.”

    Beck said that he was “going to be like … the Israeli Nazi hunters,” adding, “I’m going to find these big progressives and, to the day I die, I’m going to be a progressive hunter.” Beck continued: “I’m going to find these people that have done this to our — you know, to our country, and expose them. I don’t care where — I don’t care if they’re in nursing homes. I’m going to expose what they have done and make sure that the people understand, because our Constitution, our republic — if it survives — it will only survive because the people are waking up and through the grace of God, because we are that close to losing our republic.”

    “You can try to put the lid on this group of people, but you will never silence us. You will never — you can shoot me in the head, you can shoot the next guy in the head, but there will be 10 others that line up. And it may not happen today, it may not happen next week, but freedom will be restored in this land. Period.”

    “They are taking you to be slaughtered.”

    “When I see a 9/11 victim family on television, or whatever, I’m just like, ‘Oh shut up’ I’m so sick of them because they’re always complaining.” –”The Glenn Beck Program,” Sept. 9, 2005

    “The only [Katrina victims] we’re seeing on television are the scumbags.” –”The Glenn Beck Program,” Sept. 9, 2005

    Source of many Beck statements: http://tinyurl.com/yhlj6jh

    April 9th 2010
    Suspect’s mother faults Fox News for son’s alleged threats against Nancy Pelosi on health care

    Read more: http://tinyurl.com/4pqczoj

    On his Fox News show, Beck talked about putting poison in Pelosi’s wine.

    April 9, 2010
    Anger over health-care reform spurs rise in threats against Congress members

    Anger over the health-care overhaul has led to a nearly threefold increase in recent months in the number of serious threats against members of Congress, federal law enforcement officials said.

    The threats have led to at least three arrests
    http://tinyurl.com/y888tfz

    January 14, 2011

    http://tinyurl.com/4vtj6hm

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      Your point is well taken, and I get what you are saying here, but it doesn’t work. I am well aware of many of his off color comments in the past. I love how you have taken all of these out of their full context and seem to take them literally. Many of Beck’s off color comments have been stated in a sarcastic tone. If you actually watch the show you would know that. I doubt that you do. You see, I have watched almost every episode on Fox of Beck’s minus the first month or so he was there. His behavior over the last several months have been impressive to say the least, and I don’t expect to see much of this happening again. You judge a man by all his actions, not just a few off color sarcastic remarks. Have you listened to some of the commentators on the left? Or, maybe have you listened to your own President? June 2008, they bring a knife, we’ll bring a gun.

      The fact is the pledge exists, that’s where we’re at, and I will stand with him. You can live in the past, or live in the present. I thought the left was big at trying to understand someone, and accepting them as they are and trying to make them better? I guess that’s a perspective only for your political persuasion.

      Thanks for stopping by the blog though! You know your post seemed very well constructed? Almost as if you have an axe to grind or something. Are you a blogger for Media Matters? Scared that Mr. Beck is leading in a positive way, and this may finally be the straw that brakes the progressive liberal back?

      Best of luck in your witch hunt.

Leave a Reply

