William Norris: Scorned Clay County official, defender of women!

Posted: February 1, 2011 in 2010 Elections, Clay County, Clay County Auditor
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Friday I received a communication from a source that stated that William Norris had thrown a fit in the Clay County budget yes/no hearing and had threatened to sue the County for a hostile work environment. It seems that poor Bill feels that he is being unfairly treated because his budget is being slashed. I then tweeted about it last night. Today, I received his defense in the form of an essay. As I have said in the past, I just want open and honest communication from my elected officials. It seems that Mr. Norris has finally decided to quit being a middle schooler and actually have somewhat of an adult conversation. I think the most entertaining aspect of this email, Norris seems to fashion himself as some defender of women and equal opportunity. This coming from the guy with the restraining orders.

Here is the email in it’s entirety (errors and all), I will respond to it below:

Andrew,

I read your twitter feed and you sir are incorrect with those statements. I did not threaten to file suit against anyone. I did lose my temper in the morning budget yes/no hearing, but for damn good reason.

The Auditors office has be targeted and treated unfairly. The Clay County Commission had originally approved salary funding for the Auditors office, but on Friday morning all was voted to reconsider and voted against by Commissioners Katee Porter and Larry Larson. Pam Mason voted yes on the funding, because it was the logical thing to do.

The Auditors office has now lost 17% of our original Employee Salary Line Item ($30,000 salary plus benefits). No other department in the county is experiencing a cut like this. Infact the Clerks office got a $29,000 dollar salary budget increase to hire 1 new fulltime employee. The Recorder of Deeds experienced a 1/10th% cut in the amount of $259.00

I have 1 male employee and 1 female employee with the exact same job title, duties, and education. The female employee has over 10yrs of governmental accounting experience and the male employee has 2yrs of governmental accounting experience. The male employee currently makes $15,000 more per year than the female. I assure you this is not my doing. They would make the exact same amount of $54,100.00 if I was given proper funding for my office.

The Clay County Commissioners have caused my work environment to become very hostile. The sexual discrimination and discrimination of an individual office holder is a pathetic way for Katee Porter to take out her personal opinions against me. As we all know Commissioner Porter was named as a witness in the Missouri Ethics Commission complaint against me, just like you were Andrew. Porter denies any involvment in this, but I am still skeptical.

As I said before I do not plan to sue anyone. I have faith that the County Commission will change their minds as the months go on. I will say however that say Clay County has been on the losing end of law suits pertaining to this exact same subject matter so I guess the notion is never completely out of the question. Sheriff Jack Corum Vs. Peggy Shull and the Clay County Commission, and Louise Ressler Vs. Clay County just to name two large ones. If anyone has a point to sue it would be Cherie Warren from my office who is a target of sexual discrimination.

The bottom line is this. The Clay County Auditors office cannot sustain its current work load with the amount of employee funding currently granted by the Clay County Commission. If losing my temper means me getting up and defending my employees, then you can expect me to lose that temper at every Commission meeting because I’ll be damned if the Commissioners are going to use they’re personal belief of me to harm my staff and the citizens of Clay County.

I’d look for a hefty article in the Liberty Tribune this week concerning this. I over heard Katee Porter telling Ray Weikal that she knows I have a fantastic case in this matter and that she wouldn’t be surprised if the county got sued over it. All of this drama could have been avoided if the County Commission would have voted to comply with my requests. Requests that would have saved the county over $6,000 dollars from the 2010 actual budget.

I knew all along that I would probably have a rough road ahead of me. I never knew the Clay County Commission would try to bring the Citizens down with me.

Regards,

William Norris

Clay County Auditor.

I asked for clarification on the issue of Norris threatening to sue. It seems there was an inference drawn from the language he was using on Friday. So to be fair and HONEST to Mr. Norris, he never actually stated in specific words that he was going to sue the county. He just used the buzz phrases hostile work environment and sexual discrimination. That led to an inference that he was contemplating a law suit. It wouldn’t shock me if he had been contemplating the idea, he has threatened to sue me, the Liberty Tribune, Chris Till, and Sheila Ernzen.

Now, to respond to the issue of the position being cut out of his office. This is not right, and he knows it. The reason he had $30,000 in salary in the first place was because he terminated a female employee from the office to free up the salary. (There is some incredible rumors floating around about how this employee was fired, I cannot comment on this right now.) There was a vote on Tuesday for a line item request to his department, which he retracted. Then on Wednesday there was to be another vote for a salary line item increase, in which he failed to show up for. The Commission did vote on Wednesday, but this was reconsidered on Friday. Thursday the commission voted on the line item from Tuesday, but reconsidered this as well on Friday also. The reason it was reconsidered is because Katee Porter was not in attendance for the vote. When all three Commissioners are not in attendance the default is to the Presiding Commissioner’s vote. That was Mason.

As for the statement about the Clerk’s office getting an increase, well not exactly. This position is a Board of Equalization clerk mandated by statute. Allegedly, Cathy Rinehart (our resident sexual harassment expert) throws a fit every year about paying for this position out of her office. The reason it benefits the citizens of Clay County to pay for that salary from out of the Assessor’s fund rather than the General fund (where the Clerk’s budget is) is the state of Missouri reimburses the Assessor’s office’s expenses up to a maximum amount based on the number of tax parcels Clay County has. So if that expense is paid for from the Assessor’s fund, part or all of that salary could be reimbursed to the county if we hadn’t hit our maximum cap. The reason Ms. Rinehart throws a fit each year is because the BOE clerk actually works under the direction of the county clerk, not the assessor. So, Mr. Norris is once again not telling the entire truth, kind of like saying you have a degree from William Jewell when you only have an Associate’s degree. The Commission voted to eliminate ALL open positions that were not currently filled, and the only reason that this position was open was because of a recent termination of an employee in that office.

As for the statement about no other office experiencing cuts. That’s an outright lie. The Assessor’s office lost five full time positions. Sherriff Boydston lost positions as well, and was unable to fill six positions that he wanted.

Norris probably had intended on using some or all of the $30,000 in question to pay the new Auditor employee Cherie Warren. Who is Cherie Warren you may inquire?

You see, Ms. Warren is a former employee of the Clay County Auditor’s office under Vic Hurlbert and then later Sheila Ernzen. She is also a former employee of the Platte County Auditor’s office. She just left the Auditor’s office in Platte County to swoop in and save Mr. Norris’ butt, because we all know he is not exactly qualified for the job. According to sources Ms. Warren also is close friends with Vic Hurlbert, County Commissioner Pam Mason’s husband. Now Ms. Warren actually resigned from the Clay County Auditor’s office while it was ran by Sheila Ernzen. I wonder why Ms. Warren resigned from the office?

What Mr. Norris should understand, and what he’s not saying is that the Commission has nothing to do with the individual distribution of salaries inside of his department. The Commission distributes the money in one lump sum. He can allocate the salaries however he sees fit. The Commissioners voted to eliminate ALL OPEN positions on Friday from any department. Had Mr. Norris made the decision of what to do with this fired position sooner, he wouldn’t have anything to cry about. That was his mistake and poor managment of his office.

As for the breakdown of his employees, here is the facts according to Ms. Ernzen. “The female has over 10 years governmental accounting experience…”. The experience that she has is not technical accounting and audit experience. The male employee also has a Master’s Degree in accounting and two years public accounting experience auditing multiple government entities financial statements as well as two years experience working for Clay County.”

Now the most entertaining and hilarious portion of the email: he is accusing Katee Porter of sexual discrimination. First, this isn’t even a rational conclusion. I’m still laughing at this one. I will match his sexual discrimination, and raise him a couple restraining orders. I wonder what Mr. Norris’ ex-girlfriends would have to say about this? Mr. Norris seems to forget what he has been in trouble for. Maybe he’s a changed man, but judging from all the lying before the election, I highly doubt that is the case.

I also love the use of foul language in the email. One would think that he surely knows I would post this to my blog. One would also think that if he wanted to improve his image that he has created up to this point that he might refrain from this action. Oh well, maybe another day.

As for the Ethics complaint he is referring to, that complaint was filed by Matt Snell (Sheila Ernzen’s father) during the election. It had to do with Mr. Norris’ campaign signs, the ones where he posted CPA on them, when he really wasn’t a CPA. Neither I, nor Katee Porter were asked if it was OK to be put on it. We were only listed as witnesses in case the Missouri Ethics Commission needed to contact someone about the signs.  I was not upset, and would have gladly signed any complaint against Norris in the run-up to the election. Admittedly, Mr. Snell probably should have asked for permission before placing our names on it, he didn’t. I have confirmed with Ms. Ernzen that Mr. Snell never communicated with Ms. Porter about putting her name on the complaint. That issue is between the Porters and Mr. Norris.

You know, we are paying Mr. Norris about $60,000 per year for a job he is not qualified to do. The loss of the position in the Auditor’s office shouldn’t be a big deal if he had more than an Associate Degree. The workload WILL be difficult for him because of the loss of the man power and the fact that he doesn’t know what he is really doing. I do have a solution to this problem, he could resign, Governor Nixon could appoint someone that is qualified to do the job, and Mr. Norris can go back to driving limos.

I find the fact that he contacted me odd. You see, I was told by Mr. Norris back in October to not contact him anymore. Asking too many questions I guess:

William Norris <williamnkc@gmail.com> Tue, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:36 AM
Reply-To: William Norris <williamnkc@gmail.com>
To: Andrew P <>
This is the last time I will request that you stop contacting me.  This is borderline harassment. When someone tells you to not contact them it is your responsibility to not do so. William 

 

It wasn’t long after this exchange that Norris began to hide from me and the “Jeff Smith” Twitter feed showed up. So, now he wants to have a dialogue? Mr. Norris reminds me of a middle school student that repeatedly lies to accomplish some end, in his case getting elected. Suddenly, when they need the trust of other students around them they don’t have it, because NO ONE BELIEVES A WORD THAT COMES OUT OF THEIR MOUTH!

A is A Mr. Norris, reality cannot be denied. The Commissioners may have a negative view of you because of your past actions, your election did not wipe this from anyone’s memory. The citizens are not being brought down with you. The county’s Auditor office is being destroyed by you. Mr. Norris, you made this bed, and I tell you, I’m going to help you sleep in it.

Update 2/1/2011 10:14 AM: I wanted to add one final thing here. My intention is not, nor has it ever been to create untruths and lies about Mr. Norris. I am not trying to destroy his character. My intention is to bring focus on this elected official and to create transparency for the people of Clay County. Mr. Norris is always welcome to state anything in reply as a comment on this blog. I will gladly approve it. I will always correct anything that he can prove that I have been wrong on.

Update 2/1/2011 6:30 PM: More childishness. Make sure you check out the comments below. We have an anonymous poster. Tax Payer’s email is agr8pair@aol.com Really, that’s the most juvenile thing I have ever seen? Are you fourteen years old? Then this individual goes on to call Sheila Ernzen “sure thing” Sheila. Which just happened to be the same thing Norris, and then later “Jeff Smith,” called Ms. Ernzen on Twitter during the election. Oddly, it’s a comment promoting Ms. Mason, which is kind of funny, because the only other candidate that Norris and “Jeff Smith” ever talked about was Pam Mason. This all may be a coincidence, make your own inference.

Update 2/2/2011 9:20 AM: I received a Direct Message through Twitter from Ms. Ernzen last night. She states that Vic Hurlbert and Cathy Rinhart routinely referred to Ed Quick as “Fast Eddy.” Not making any accusation on who the anonymous Tax Payer comment is from. The thing is, when you post anonymously on here, I get to speculate. 😉

Andrew,
I read your twitter feed and you sir are incorrect with those statements.  I did not threaten to file suit against anyone.  I did lose my temper in the morning budget yes/no hearing, but for damn good reason.
The Auditors office has be targeted and treated unfairly.  The Clay County Commission had originally approved salary funding for the Auditors office, but on Friday morning all was voted to reconsider and voted against by Commissioners Katee Porter and Larry Larson.  Pam Mason voted yes on the funding, because it was the logical thing to do.
The Auditors office has now lost 17% of our original Employee Salary Line Item ($30,000 salary plus benefits).  No other department in the county is experiencing a cut like this.  Infact the Clerks office got a $29,000 dollar salary budget increase to hire 1 new fulltime employee.  The Recorder of Deeds experienced a 1/10th% cut in the amount of $259.00
I have 1 male employee and 1 female employee with the exact same job title, duties,  and education.  The female employee has over 10yrs of governmental accounting experience and the male employee has 2yrs of governmental accounting experience.  The male employee currently makes $15,000 more per year than the female.  I assure you this is not my doing.  They would make the exact same amount of $54,100.00 if I was given proper funding for my office.
The Clay County Commissioners have caused my work environment to become very hostile.  The sexual discrimination and discrimination of an individual office holder is a pathetic way for Katee Porter to take out her personal opinions against me.  As we all know Commissioner Porter was named as a witness in the Missouri Ethics Commission complaint against me, just like you were Andrew.  Porter denies any involvment in this, but I am still skeptical.
As I said before I do not plan to sue anyone.  I have faith that the County Commission will change their minds as the months go on.  I will say however that say Clay County has been on the losing end of law suits pertaining to this exact same subject matter so I guess the notion is never completely out of the question. Sheriff Jack Corum Vs. Peggy Shull and the Clay County Commission, and Louise Ressler Vs. Clay County just to name two large ones.  If anyone has a point to sue it would be Cherie Warren from my office who is a target of sexual discrimination.
The bottom line is this.  The Clay County Auditors office cannot sustain its current work load with the amount of employee funding currently granted by the Clay County Commission.  If losing my temper means me getting up and defending my employees, then you can expect me to lose that temper at every Commission meeting because I’ll be  damned if the Commissioners are going to use they’re personal belief of me to harm my staff and the citizens of Clay County.
I’d look for a hefty article in the Liberty Tribune this week concerning this.  I over heard Katee Porter telling Ray Weikal that she knows I have a fantastic case in this matter and that she wouldn’t be surprised if the county got sued over it.  All of this drama could have been avoided if the County Commission would have voted to comply with my requests.  Requests that would have saved the county over $6,000 dollars from the 2010 actual budget.
I knew all along that I would probably have a rough road ahead of me.  I never knew the Clay County Commission would try to bring the Citizens down with me.
Regards,
William Norris
Clay County Auditor.
Comments
  1. concerned mom says:

    Good grief, what the heck is happening in clay county! I do hope that the auditor can get some volunteer help. I don’t want my stuff messed up or anyone else’s.
    It’s unfortunate that this man got elected but probably happened because his name is Norris and folks mixed him up with the prosecuting attorney.

    It didn’t help that Ernesen (or whatever her name is) had SEIU funding her campaign.
    There was no possible way I was voteing for anyone associated with corrupt SEIU.
    NO WAY

  2. Tax Payer says:

    Apparently, Property Taxes were cut 12.5% by Mason and Porter. Now that the Republicans are in charge, Clay Countians will be paying lower property taxes. Too bad for the Tax Increasers Ed Quick and Larry, now even their taxes are going lower. Hmph !!!

    I don’t know the Auditor, so have no comments. But what I saw that was funny was that sure thing Sheila had her daddy file an ethics complaint….too funny…..time to grow up sure thing Sheila….lol

    In the campaign, Mason said she would cut taxes and did. WOW, a politician that does what she says!! Remarkable.. Both her and Porter cut spending too. There is a looming issue caused by the Fast Eddy Quick Commission, the underpayment of taxes to cities and road districts. That, my friends, could cost millions, but once decided, Clay County can chart a course financially. Thanks to fast Eddy Quick, the county collected money belonging to other jurisdictions, and now the ladies have to clean up his mess. Reminds me of how fast and loose he has played with money, facts and the truth for years.

  3. Robin says:

    Thank you Andrew for taking the time to keep us informed on this and other Clay County political news. I am grateful for your service to the community. I respect you and your opinion of people because you do your homework.

    Norris’s comment during the campaign about your “silly little blog” (I believe that’s what he called it) and it’s insignificant following was apalling from someone seeking elected office. Like going on a job interview and saying that you are so smart you basically already have the job and the interviewer’s opinion is insignificant. Arrogant. He may have won the campaign, but I have a feeling that now he’ll be paying for it. Things have a way of working themselves out in time. What goes around comes around.

    Thanks again for keeping us in the loop.

  4. Tax Payer says:

    http://articles.latimes.com/2002/mar/19/local/me-watkins19

    Fast Eddy is an old reference and even a recently used term. As far as me being Hulbert, good grief, I played a role in getting him out of here.

    But the fact that sure thing reads and contributes to this blag tells me you are in cahoots with a labor backed SEIU ex auditor, so I won’t be posting or reading here as there is no objectivity, but rather an apparent bias. Blag blag blag, and last comment, Katee has it going on, Mason is learning teamwork.

    This site is like an old lady gossip network full of innuendos and false facts. i.e., the two commissioners that gutted the auditor’s budget just got rid of a lady on FMLA…..LMFAO…….

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      You need to get your facts straight. Ernzen never took a dime from SEIU, the only reason you think that is because her campaign flier was printed by a printer that was an SEIU member. I’ll miss your intellectual commentary. Take care.

  5. Mike Robinson says:

    Yep, tax payer is totally Jeff Smith, or VoteGOPClayCounty, or Bill Norris, whichever alias he goes by. I must be hell filling out job applications for him if the actually ask for aliases. Oh, tax payer, how do you feel about spending $60,000 on an auditor who stated that they could do the audit of the Collector’s office, until he found out he was getting $80,000 cut from his salary budget, then he couldn’t do it and stated that his employee felt that she was in a “hostile work environment” (I’m in the process of Sunshine Law papers so this should be fun). Once I get the hearing I requested involvig Bill Norris’ tirade, I will make sure to post online. So, if you worked hard to get Vic Hurlbert “Out of Here”, then how do you feel about Bill Norris bringing back “Hurlbert’s trusted sidekick and close friend” Sherrie Warren? I also find it interesting that Mason voted FOR allowing the $80,000 to stay in the auditors office, you know, since she’s a “fiscal conservative” and Katee Porter voted against it and even was against Bill Norris’ motion to reconsider, which prompted him to basically call Comissioner Porter a sexist. Funny coming from a guy with 2 restraining orders filed against him by young women. And what about the open door policy? Yeah, love the fact that I can’t go see my auditor, whom my taxes go to pay, without an appointment. I’m thinking about organizing an Auditor’s Office Walkin to see what’s going on in the auditor’s office and demand open and transparent answers. I’ll put out at a later date.

  6. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    Mike,

    Not sure where you’re getting the $80K number from? It’s $30K as far as I’m aware.

  7. Tax Payer says:

    I stand corrected.

    Sure Thing only got contributions from the following LABOR UNIONS or organizations:

    Teamsters Local 41
    Pipefitters Local 533
    Teamsters Local 838
    Teamsters Local 955
    Roofers Local 720
    MO State Council Machinists PAC
    Labor Educational and Political Club
    MO State UAW PAC
    Local 124

    No SEIU, I saw that reference above and was mistaken. Perhaps, the above organizations are proper and highly professional at their duties.

    The point is Mr. Palmer, you are in the Pachyderm club as an officer and you have misrepresented your loyalty with gaffes, mistakes, rumor mongering and the ilk that makes “manly” blogging what it is worth, nothing but gossip and no facts. Now I am out of here. Good luck, Mr. Clay County Enquirer….lol

  8. watching says:

    love all the comments. Its only been 4 weeks since the newly elected officals have came in and look at the games starting. I thought the elected officials have to take a oath to do what it right. Mr. Palmer keep up the good work. Let the truth be known….

  9. Christopher Till says:

    Tax Payer, I wouldn’t comment on here because of my position but the fact is that Commissioner Mason hasn’t been in office long enough to make a difference. They’ve only been in office for a little over a month. I’m going to contact Clerk Chapman for a copy of the Budget approved by the Commission. However, if Property Taxes are going down as you suggest, then why do I keep receiving emails and letters from taxpayers and constituents from Representative Neth that they are afraid that their Personal Property Taxes are going UP? Could you answer that for me, I would appreciate it since you have such an advanced knowledge of county politics that the average citizen doesn’t have. BTW, I’m pretty sure that Auditor Norris stated publicly that he was terminating the lady on FMLA. Then he turned around and said that “she’s still on the payroll”. Get your facts straight buddy, Auditor Norris terminated the lady on FMLA, not the two commissioners and I have it on public record.

  10. Taxpayer Too says:

    Hooray for Mason and Porter, they cut a few expenses out of the Clay County budget. Seems they needed to because of all the litigation and outside consulting fees Clay County is going to be paying over the next four years due to the people that were elected in 2010. It appears that they are going to increase the cost for all Clay County taxpayers, especially Mr. Norris.

    Norris wants his female employee to sue the County for hostile work environment and sexual discrimination. I guess he’ll be her star witness. That’s going to cost.

    Norris fired another woman that was on FMLA? That’s going to cost.

    Norris thinks he should sue Porter because she voted to take away one of the positions that he eliminated himself? And now he says he can’t do his work as auditor? That’s going to cost.

    Mr. Norris is an elected official with certain duties and requirements that he agreed to when he ran for the job. Elected officials are public servants doing a job that requires hours longer than just 9-5. He may have to put in some extra hours to get the job done. It is his responsibility, employees or not. If he doesn’t want to serve he can always resign as Mr. Palmer has suggested.

  11. Tax payer says:

    Mr. Till

    What is your position? i don’t understand.

    “County” personal property taxes are going down, but in other places in the county, they could go up, such as, the marvelous Liberty school district. Seems like all they have to do is get a tax measure on the ballot and the citizens pass it, thus, it may occur that overall property taxes are going up, but not as a result of the Porter-Mason Commission.

    I am done talking about County stuff, let’s talk about city elections coming soon.

    Taxed Enough Already !!

  12. Christopher Till says:

    Field Representative
    State Representative Myron Neth- Missouri 34th District.

  13. Christopher Till says:

    Really? This is regarding a letter sent by County Assessor Cathy Rinehart regarding Vehicle Personal Property tax and changing the statute to read that the assessor “may” use Kelly Blue Book to assess property taxes or have the DMV charge by weight of vehicle. I would say, since it came from a county official, that this is a county issue, wouldn’t you agree?

  14. Christopher Till says:

    Listen, I really don’t care who did what during the election. I’ll come out and say it, I voted for Sheila Ernzen against William Norris. I didn’t trust and I suppose I still don’t. However, I because I am Representative Neth’s eye’s and ear’s in the district, I will work with him if he is willing to work with me. I want what is best for the taxpayers of Clay County and I want all our elected officials to succeed. Right now, I get my information on what goes on up there from my dear friend Clerk Sheri Chapman and 3rd party sources. I am willing to get his side of the story if he’d sit down with me. I can’t promise anything, I’m just concerned about Clay County. So, stop the childish name calling on here, and that goes for everyone.

    • Tax payer says:

      Ah, yes, democrat Rinehart. The “assessed values” “may” be going up on personal automobiles. It is multiplication. Assessed value x property tax levies = Tax bill. Property tax levies include school district, county, fire districts, library, senior citizens, DDRB and others totally nearly $6-7 bucks. Personal property is assessed at 33% of the value divided by 100 and real estate (not including commercial) is at 19%. The equation is as follows…..in an example, pass the Earl Grey Palmer…. House valued at 100,000 times 19%= 19000, divided by 100 = 190 times “all of the tax levies” based upon where that person lives, i.e. Liberty (estimated at $6.50 including all the districts including county earlier), the real estate tax bill would be about $1,235 for real estate, whereas, for personal property it would be the example of two cars valued at the NADA new amount thanks to the state tax commission at say 20,000 times 33%= 6,600 divided by 100=66 times the $6.50 = $429 personal property tax bill, the one you pay as proof to get your license tags. Porter – Mason reduced only the County part of the example of $6.50 to $6.47. The county does not tax that much, it is mostly the schools. Hope that helps. Palmer, got any sugar?

      • Christopher Till says:

        Ok, the question isn’t how the system works. She didn’t even bring that up in her letter. She wants to use KBB over NADA or assess by property value. If you’d be willing, and would like to have and interest in telling us how it works, I’d be more than happy to send you an email where you can sign up for Representative Neth’s weekly updates and I can even send you his stance on it and see if you agree. Would that be alright? I’d need your email address to put into our constant contact and a name would help to go along with it. Thanks.

  15. Christopher Till says:

    I meant weight of vehicle, sorry.

  16. Tax Payer says:

    Sorry, told you all I know. I don’t know what caused the letter and whether there is a change in state law mandating the use of one method or another for assessing vehicles. Sorry.

  17. Christopher Till says:

    Well, I’m just saying, I could give you an update on any changes in the statute if you were to give me your email address and name. You seem to know the inner-workings so you must work or have worked up at the courthouse on the square and thought you might bring something to the table.

  18. William Norris says:

    I just wanted to say that this is my 1st post on here, and I’m sure Andrew can check IP#’s to validate this claim.

    I will not be filing any lawsuits. The County Commission can do what they wish as far as my budget goes. They have however created a hostile work environment in my office. When you have a Man and a Woman doing the same duties, with the same job title, same education and nearly same experience (The woman in this case has more) they should get paid the same amount of $. The man should not get 15k dollars less, period. It is sexual discrimination in my opinion. If Cherie Warren chooses to sue the county, then that is not my fault. Katee Porter and Larry Larson both choose to vote no. I did everything short of begging them in the best interest of the County. It is very clear to me that they do not have the Counties best interest in mind.

    The Auditors office is running very smoothly for the info of all concerned parties. We just finished our confirmations and I had a meeting with the Outside Auditing agency this morning and we are well ahead of schedule. Our yearly audit of the county should be nearly completed around April 18th or 19th and the Outside Auditors should have all of the necessary info including financial statements by those dates.

    I did not fire anyone on FMLA and I do currently have a part-time employee in my office. That part-time employee is still on FMLA and is due to return on February 15th.

    Mike Robinson, whoever you are.. You are more than welcome to come to my office anytime or call me on my direct extension at 816-407-3592. The Auditors office has no “locked door” policies, and I am always here 8am-5pm or earlier.

    The reason I brought Cherie Warren back into the Clay County Auditors office is because she is a great employee and accountant. She worked at Clay County for 8+yrs in the Auditors office and in the Platte County Auditors office while she was away from Clay. She is also considered to be an expert with Eden Accounting Software and almost took a job with Tyler Technologies (Eden’s maker) in Seattle, but decided not to move bc of family.

    The Clay County Auditors office has nothing to hide. You can go ahead and get audio copies of my statements in the budget meeting and I stand behind all of those claims. Katee Porter and Larry Larson may strike their own personal opinion of me, but I will not allow them to carry over that hatred to my employees. I will go to bat for them everytime no matter what. If you were my employee, Mike, Andrew, Chris, whomever I would do the same for you all to.

    Thanks,

    William Norris
    Clay County Auditor

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      William,

      Such a nice response. Thanks for stopping by! No curse words even, I’m proud of you. You may be growing up right before our very eyes. You’re welcome to post anytime here. Have a great day!

  19. Christopher Till says:

    I want to state for the record that I have talked with Auditor Norris and got his side of the story. I thank him for the prompt response and wish him nothing but the best. I hope that in the future we’ll be able to continue a healthy and productive conversation about Clay County Politics.

  20. concerned mom says:

    Maybe fast Sheila or sure thing sheila would have been a sure thing if she hadn’t had all the union boss support. I guess she never thought that that money she took from all those unions, were indeed union member dues.
    I resent it.
    Sheila, next time try running without the corrupt assistance of unions I bet you will come out alot better. Maybe you would have won the auditor position if you had not sent out your SEIU mailer and that goes for all the democrats that took union money.
    I knew you we’re the better candidate, but I knew where the money came from.
    Noone will ever get my vote when they take union boss money.

  21. […] devoted followers of my meanderings will remember William James Norris and his passionate defense of Cherie Warren back in February. Mr. Norris was upset about his budget and felt that Ms. Warren was being […]

Leave a Reply

