New Clay County Collector unbondable?

Posted: February 2, 2011 in 2010 Elections
Tags: , ,

ClayCoMOPolitics received a tip yesterday that Lydia McEvoy the newly elected Clay County Collector cannot obtain a public bond. The reason for this is not entirely clear at this point. Right now it seems that Lydia McEvoy will not be able to take office as Collector. ClayCoMOPolitics has contacted Ms. McEvoy for comment, but has received no response.

Updated 2/3/2011 7:45 AM:

Ms. McEvoy has commented on the blog. She is apparently close to obtaining a bond for the office and has just had some difficulty getting one. I will update when I hear anything further.

Comments
  1. Leelee63 says:

    What the hell is going on in Clay County politics? We need major campaign and election reform in this county. Ridiculous…and, it’s an embarrassment to live in this county.

    • Kenton Chaney says:

      Dear Fellow Citizens,

      I believe this will be much-a-due about nothing. Mrs. McEnvoy has a very clean reputation in Clay County, and as a lawyer. This process for Tax Collectors is a unique area in the bonding business. I believe that Clay County will be just fine. And a year from now, we’ll be very proud of our new office holders.

  2. Tax Payer says:

    There you go again, Palmer. McEvoy has to get a $750,000 bond. I dare say you could not get one either. LOL.

    But word has it, she has a bonding company and movement to securing the bond will happen soon and thus, before 3/1/2011.

    Rumor mongerer, too funny… Do you drink tea with your fellow old ladies while you spew this hatred?

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      One more thought, I find it incredibly ironic that an individual with an email of Agr8pair, doesn’t have a big enough pair to own up to who they are in public. That my friend is called a contradiction. Which effectively negates anything you have to say. Adult behavior is a stretch for you I can see. Stay safe out there!

    • Mike Robinson says:

      You know Tax Payer (or whoever the hell you are). For not liking this blog, you sure do pay a lot of attention to it. Is this what happens when the auditor’s office is shut down for a snow day?

      Andrew, the story with Lydia is still up in the air. Yes, it is a $750,000 bond (and only someone on the inside would know that, right Bill Norris?) it’s not like it’s unachievable. I don’t know what will happen with this, I do have more respect for Lydia than a certain auditor who got bonded.

  3. ClayCoMOPolitics says:

    No rumors being spread, and I thought you were leaving?

    Simply reporting what I heard. If Lydia is able to secure a bond I will be happy, especially considering that I voted for her. You see I didn’t want to be accused of singling out our Auditor and not reporting on other things that are going on.

    Thanks for your update though. You keep posting and we are going to eventually get the idea that you are one of the players involved. And considering that our hero Norris has a propensity for hiding behind aliases, one wonders.

    I think you need to work on your reading comprehension skills. 😉

  4. Lydia McEvoy says:

    Thanks, Andrew, for standing up for someone you previously treated as a friend. You did not contact me and your facts are incorrect. Yes, I am struggling to get bonded in such a large amount in this difficult economy, but I have plenty of people that believe in me and that are offering solutions instead of speculating about the problem. Clay County, don’t give up on me yet. I look forward to serving as your Collector beginning in March, and I promise to serve you well.

  5. Lydia McEvoy says:

    While getting bonded has been a difficult process, what you are missing is the opportunity for a truly positive Clay County story. I have been humbled and grateful by people from both sides of the aisle that have come out in support of me in this process because they want what is best for Clay County. If you had checked your facts, you would have found an opportunity to showcase one of the better moments in recent Clay County politics.

    • Christopher Till says:

      Lydia,

      I know that it is tough for you right now and believe me you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I hope a solution comes out quickly in your favor. I think what Andrew does on here is absolutely fantastic. He doesn’t want to see you not be able to get bonded. He is a fact checker who wants to keep politics in check on both sides of the aisle. We want what is best for the county, and right now it is too early to tell if the recently elected group with do good or harm to the county.

      I personally hope that EVERYONE (Auditor Norris included) succeeds. I know Andrew feels the same way. If you all were to succeed, it would be good not only for yourselfs but the people of Clay County. If you don’t, then we all suffer. I read to my daughter every night The Bearnstain Bears “The Truth”. The theme, as I’m sure you know, is trust isn’t easily put back together. Now, Auditor Norris has lied in the past, that is a fact if you check out the letter from the Prosecuting Attornery’s Office regarding his education and his claiming to be a CPA (I will note, Platte County doesn’t have a CPA for an auditor, however, she didn’t ever claim to be). Because of that and the ongoing childish temper tantrums during commission meetings, people are wary of politicians. Yes, the Election of 2010 was great to anyone with an R next to their name, however, 2 years prior it was not so friendly.

      I guess my point is that we want to see everyone succeed. Because, think of this Lydia, we will have at least 4 open seats in 2012 (possibly 5 depending on redistricting). We now have a Republican majority commission and Republican led offices in the Auditor, Clerk, Collector and Recorder of Deeds. If we don’t do well and stop the infighting and start doing the things that every elected official was elected to do, then everything that Jerry Nolte has worked. Ryan Silvey has worked for. Bob Nance has worked for. And Luann Ridgeway, who was the only elected Republican in Clay County when first elected, has worked for, will go for nothing because like it or not, fair or unfair, you all are the future. Andrew Palmer can only do so much, Ben Wierzbicki can only do so much and I can only do so much. We aren’t under the microscope like all of you. In 2012 you can bet the Democrats will spend a lot of money in Clay County, it’s a certainty. But, you can defeat it with your actions. That means stop the childish temper tantrums during commission meetings (I’m not directing that at you), stop the name calling, stop the shenanigans that’s going on up there and start doing what you all were elected to do.

      I’m sorry it’s so long, I’ve just had this on my chest for a while now.

  6. Concerned Citizen says:

    Who is Lydia McEvoy?

  7. Concerned Citizen says:

    Yah, I voted for her over reaves.

  8. William Norris says:

    Just FYI.. I had no idea that Lydia was having trouble with her bond and I haven’t made comments to go against that. I hope she gets it and joins our team in March. Anyone would be better than Sandra Reeves.

    Mike Robinson, I’m not sure who you are, but you are welcome to call me anytime to express the concerns you have with me. My direct extension at the county is 816-407-3592 and I am here from 8am-5pm Monday-Friday.

    To further comment on what Mike said.. Other people from outside Clay County are familiar with the bonding amounts for each office. State statute states that my office only requres a 10,000 bond, but in 2006 the Clay County Commission passed a resolution bumping those amount up to $100,000 and other offices alike except for the Collector which off the top of my head went from 100k to 750k, but im not quite sure of that.

    I am wondering why there was ever doubt of my bond being issued to me? I have never in my life been convicted of a crime. Ever. I will gladly submit to a criminal background check for all felony and misdermeanor offenses you wish to investigate. I also have a spotless credit history. My bond was never an issue and was accepted with the 1st application that I submited to a bonding agent.

    Thanks,
    William Norris
    Clay County Auditor

  9. […] understood Mrs. McEvoy. Back in 2010, I wrote a short piece reporting that, McEvoy may have been unbondable after she was elected. Apparently, it was not okay to report facts because shortly after that I […]

Leave a Reply

