Liberty and our Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Newspaper

Posted: May 17, 2012 in Clay County, Liberty Missouri
Tags: , , , ,

I recently decided to subscribe to the Liberty Tribune. (I know, you are probably wondering if I fell and hit my head.) I just thought I would subscribe to the local to stay a little more informed (and there was some free QT gas cards involved). Plus, I figured since I often declare that there is no such thing as journalism existing inside of the walls of the Liberty Tribune office, I thought it might be good to actually read it for a period of time to confirm my suspicions.

Oh, my…. I’m not sure what would make better toilet paper at this point, the Kansas City Star or the Liberty Tribune. Is it possible to be this out of touch with the world around you?

I regularly read the Platte County Landmark, so I suppose I am a bit spoiled. The reason I read a local newspaper from a community I don’t live inside of is because it has one of the highest quality editorial sections I have ever seen in a local paper. Editor Ivan Foley really gets what he is doing with his paper.

In the last two months there have been two editorial pieces criticizing the induction of Rush Limbaugh into the Hall of Famous Missourians. Really? You honestly think that this is an issue that is really plaguing the average Missourian? You actually think that it is so important it warrants your center editorial piece, not once, but twice! Would it be possible for editor Angie Anaya Borgedalen to acknowledge that there is other more pressing issues facing Missourians or even Clay Countians?

Hey Angie, whatever happened to William James Norris’ trial? You remember, the Clay County Auditor that left in disgrace. Did you happen to notice the other Clay County Republican Auditor that left the office in disgrace is now running for state office? After about two months I have seen little coverage of what goes on down at the Clay County Courthouse. Your coverage of the Liberty School District Board is absolutely abysmal. If you really want to cover “controversial” state issues how about you mention the fact that a former Democratic Governor was recently indicted for illegal campaign donations. What exactly is it you do all day down there?

Oh, wait, I remember. You report on pop machines. We are all much better as a community because the Tribune covered the fact that Godfather’s Pizza got a new touch-screen pop machine. Maybe, just maybe, if you cut one of the eight sports stories you run a week you might actually accomplish something that remotely resembles journalism. It’s a tough concept, I know.

Leave a Reply

