I started this blog with the intent of being a citizen voice to keep tabs on my local elected officials. I never thought local politics would be so ridiculous. For those that have followed this blog, you know exactly what I am talking about.

Unfortunately, life has a way of catching up to you. This stuff takes time, time that this new father simply does not have. The ugly reality of life is that there is only 24 hours in a day. I am learning, rather quickly, that if I want to be a highly effective educator, a great father, and a great husband that something has to give in my life. What is going to give is this blog.

It has become clear to me that our solutions will not come from the political sphere alone. America is broke culturally. Look around you, especially within your own party. So many of you are willing to let a politician lie to you because they share the same political party as you. So many Americans still vote their party while at the same time knowing they can’t trust them. It is pathetic. As long as your candidate tows the “party line”, his/her moral transgressions, especially in the sphere of family seem to not trouble you at all.  The Republican party is just about as morally bankrupt as the Democrat party. (Just to reinforce the point, Tampa Strip Clubs Prepare for More Business During GOP Convention.) Frankly, I think the average Republican voter, the one who thinks that their candidates are better because they use the phrase “family values” are bigger dupes than their Democrat counterparts. Democrats rarely pretend to care about “family values,” so in that sense, at least they are honest.

I have been asked before why do I not run for office. I went to school to be an educator, and this is what I do for a living. I love what I do. To be able to work with a young student and show them that there is more to life than the hopelessness communicated to them by our media, politicians, and sometimes their own family members is one of the greatest parts of the job. I work with teenagers at the middle school level, and I often see the beginning of the same ethical and moral conflicts that are demonstrated by our politicians. (I am often fascinated at how much local politics is like a middle school or high school social environment.) I see teenagers that have no passion for things that matter, and plenty of passion for things that do not. Personally, I think I can do more in the classroom than I could running for office.

I am becoming more involved with the Association of American Educators. The AAE is a non-profit, non-partisan alternative to the NEA. They provide similar benefits minus all the leftist political non-sense that the NEA is involved in. (In case you never knew it, the NEA donates 96% of its political donations to Democrat candidates. They do not represent the average teacher.) I also have created a national grassroots teacher organization that I really would like to focus more energy on. Check out Conservative Teachers of America.

Now, this does not mean that I am giving up voting or being interested or involved in politics, quite the contrary. It simply means a reevaluation of this part of my life. Our founders designed a system that originally intended us to be involved more in our local government than in the national one. Unfortunately, through years of negligence and intentional destruction, we now have a system that has shifted responsibility and burden to the federal government. Once again, you can blame both of our parties. We must began to peel the onion back, so to speak, and push responsibility back towards the local sphere. It is only then that people will start to care about their local politicians again. I have realized I have been reporting on a symptom of the problem here.

There are some great things happening on the national scale with regards to candidates that can change this. There is so much room for improvement, though. I encourage people to look into what FreedomWorks and Jim DeMint’s Senate Conservative Fund is doing.

In the cultural sphere I encourage you to pay attention to Glenn Beck and his Mercury One charity. Other talk show hosts flap their gums, Beck does something about it. July 26-28 was the Restoring Love event in Dallas, Texas. Did you hear about it? No, probably not. On Friday July 27th, over 30,000 people volunteered to do acts of community service in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. On Saturday night, Beck brought together 65,000 people for the Restoring Love event at Cowboys’ Stadium in Dallas, Tx.

The blog is not coming down. I expect the information here to be available for all who care to read it. From time to time, you may see something up that I think is worth reading, but the focus on the local political scene is going away.

Comments
  1. Sheila says:

    I am very sorry to read that you are going to stop blogging about Clay County politics. I very much appreciate the time and energy that you have put into informing the public about Clay County government and the people that are involved. Sadly, unless people pay attention to who they are electing, Clay County politics will never change.

    I don’t know the answer to making people listen, but I know I have rooted for you along the way. I also know that you truly care about your community and want the best from our local government.

    Thank you so much for shining a light for Clay County voters.

  2. worldgeo04 says:

    Andrew,
    I’m sorry to see that you won’t be informing people about our local theatrics. I’ve enjoyed reading
    your thoughts, though I only began reading your blog about a month ago. My eyes have really been
    opened on alot of clay county shenanigans. You’re right, you couldn’t make this stuff up if you tried.
    It seems like the William Norris and subsequent wrongdoings in Liberty will continue. Everyone get
    out and vote tomorrow. Tell your friends, neighbors, and relatives. to VOTE!

  3. Andrew says:

    I understand that family and professional stress can force one to reexamine ones priorities. It’s ironic though that I just discovered your blog today while researching who to vote for tomorrow, Aug 7, 2012. Thank for your blog.

    The best of luck to you and your family.

  4. Abby Call says:

    Thanks for doing this for as long as you did. I knew Hurlbert was not the right choice but I did not have the background. I too am a huge Beck fan and hopefully we can get the country back on track someday again. Good luck in your life.

  5. Philip Williams says:

    Its probably about time you stop blogging before someone you talk badly about comes and beats the living hell out of you. I’m not saying I don’t enjoy reading your eclectic take on things. Just saying if I were Norris or Hurlburt I would probably consider breaking your arm. From what you have said about both of their antics and background I’d probably be watching your back if I were you.

    • ClayCoMOPolitics says:

      I’m just curious, but have you ever read the Declaration of Independence? The last clause of the document states, “we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.” These men were willing to give everything up to stand up for what was right at the time. Millions of Americans have sacrificed their lives for my right to speak the truth on this blog. Your implication is that I am a coward, quite the contrary. I am doing what is right for my family. I could care less what Hurlbert and Norris might do in retribution, if they did, it would only reinforce my accusations about their character. I am sorry you have such a poor view of the world.

  6. I find good blogs that are fair minded hard to come by. I don’t mind disagreeing with someone, I just want to see their logic, and to lose a blog like yours is a bad thing. Kansas City, Missouri, and the entire Country need logical thinking expressed well – then the responsibility falls on the reader to make up their own mind.

Leave a Reply

