LOL! Pam Mason Complaining About Negative Ads…and Grammar!

Posted: July 25, 2014 in 2014 Elections, Clay County Presiding Commissioner
Tags: , , , , ,

Someone told me I should check out the Reelect Pam Mason Facebook page because our dear Presiding Commissioner was grumpy about “negative” ads from the Jerry Nolte campaign.

PamMasonNegativeFBPost

Oh, that’s funny. No, I mean hilarious, to be exact. Here try this one on:

Lawsuit_alleges_lies_iff91c4c4-7324-44a8-91fc-c9563319dc270000_20101028171652_640_480

You see this was Ms. Mason’s general opponent way back in 2010. This was used in a TV ad. It was an unfair attack. I don’t agree with Ed Quick’s politics, but I’ll defend him on this one. This was a youthful indiscretion (I can’t remember exactly, but it was something like 25 years ago or more) and it had nothing to do with the Ed Quick of 2010. You might call it negative campaigning.

Oh, then there is this one from Ms. Mason’s current husband, the mighty “Amorous” Vic “Alan” Hurlbert‘s State Representative run against Noel Shull in 2012. That’s like EONS ago. Right?

HurlbertVoterId

You want to talk about negative! Generally speaking, I don’t know about you, but when you use a provable lie against your opponent, I think, just maybe….well, OK, probably…or…almost certainly you could call this negative campaigning.

But, hey, at least they used good grammar. You know what? I think she might have something here:

Pam Mason for Presiding Commissioner:  Fiscal Discipline*, Stellar Grammarian

*Just ignore that dwindling county reserve fund.

Oh, one more thing, it’s about the whole grammar thing. Apparently, grammar doesn’t apply on Facebook posts, just campaign mailers. Shall we review, class?

“Well, my opponent went negative today after telling people he would be positive. Sad. What is funny is that his mailer had many grammatical errors.”

Sad is an adjective. This is not a complete thought, and there is no implied subject in this situation. So, without further ado, the correct Facebook post if the Mason campaign would like to update it.

“Well, my opponent went negative today after telling people he would be positive. That is sad. What is funny is that his mailer had many grammatical errors.”

(It’s okay, I don’t hold this against Ms. Mason. I’m not voting based on grammar. We all make grammar errors every so often. I’ve made them, too. Sometimes, I even catch them after I publish Facebook and blog posts.)

Comments
  1. Abby call says:

    Is that what she is complaining about? Grammar. Give me a break. How about the lie that she lowered property tax, I see my house payment increasing because of tax increases. What is it gonna take to get her out of office?

  2. John Sanderford says:

    Looking forward to the factual non-wet dirt grammatically well done attack ads Pam Mason is “now thinking” about. Just hope we can all laugh at her mud slide come August 6.

  3. […] husband wife. Update 3/26: An anonymous comment was posted this morning correcting my typo here. Maybe it was  Pam Mason… Politics hasn’t worked out so well for her, so maybe she’s trying her hand at editing […]

Leave a Reply

