Silliness in the Clay County Auditor’s Race (You’re shocked, I know…)

Posted: November 2, 2014 in 2014 Elections, Clay County Auditor
Tags: , , , ,

I received an email last night from somebody in the county all in a tizzy about the mailer that Carol McCaslin sent out about Ernzen working at Belton and still completing her role as Clay County Auditor. I had known about Ms. Ernzen working in Belton awhile back, but I didn’t know if she was still working there today. Turns out she is. I did what any sensible person would do, I asked her if she was still there.

Here is the response I received:

I am the Clay County Auditor and I work every day for the citizens of Clay County. I also work as the finance director for the city of Belton. It isn’t much different from any other CPA with multiple clients, but I only have two. My days typically start very early and end very late.

When I was appointed by the Governor to finish out William Norris’ unexpired term as County Auditor, after he was forced to resign when it was discovered that he had a felony record, the city asked me to stay. They offered me a very flexible schedule that would allow me to serve Clay County first, in return for my in-depth knowledge of governmental accounting and my experience as a CPA and auditor.

My passion is ensuring transparency and accountability in our County government and I hope very much to be allowed by Clay County voters to continue.

Some things about this mailer:

1) There’s been no accusation, nor is there any evidence, that Ms. Ernzen has failed to execute the job of Clay County Auditor while she has been working in Belton. Admittedly, as she did above, it probably is hard work and a lot of hours.

2) I thought we celebrated hard-work in America?

3) This is probably the thing that irritates me the most about this. Vic Hurlbert was once our County Auditor. Hurlbert ran his own private auditing firm while he was in office. Did he shut his doors on his private practice when he was auditor? No. Should he have. Only if he wasn’t capable of doing both. (We won’t get into his actual performance as auditor here.)

4) McCaslin has no CPA credentials and is not an auditor. Which begs the question, who will be overseeing the auditing of the county and insure that it is done correctly?

5) Oh, this is funny, and I hope you are reading this sitting down. In an email to Sheila Ernzen on November 5, 2012, prior to the last election, McCaslin basically endorsed Ernzen in the auditor’s race:

From: "McCaslin, Carol" <IMCEAEX-_O=CLAY+20COUNTY_OU=CLAY_CN=RECIPIENTS_CN=CMCCASLIN@claycogov.com<mailto:IMCEAEX-_O=CLAY+20COUNTY_OU=CLAY_CN=RECIPIENTS_CN=CMCCASLIN@claycogov.com>>
Date: November 5, 2012 at 3:20:28 PM CST
To: "Ernzen, Sheila" <sernzen@claycountymo.gov<mailto:sernzen@claycountymo.gov>>
Subject: Good Luck

Sorry I missed you this morning.  We may not agree on some things, but there is 
no question that you are the best for the Auditor.

Good luck tomorrow.

At least it will be over !!

Carol McCaslin

PDF of the email.

If you wouldn’t mind, share this post with a friend here in Clay County.

Leave a Reply

