Introducing Bryan Stalder for Kansas City City Council

Posted: February 4, 2015 in Kansas City City Council
Tags: ,

Bryan Stalder is running for Kansas City City Council.

It’s a bit surreal to write that last sentence. Bryan and I have been friends since Kindergarten. We both grew up together in the historic Northeast neighborhood. In our teenage years our parents took us north. He eventually found his way back to our old stomping grounds and has taken quite an interest to being involved in his community.

I don’t always agree with Bryan. He’s a little bit different flavor of conservative than I am, but this blog has never been about complete agreement with people. Whether or not we agree or disagree on all the issues, I know he’s passionate about Kansas City and serious about his run for the City Council. His candidacy presents a surprising alternative to the usual embarrassment that is your average Kansas City City Council(wo)man. At least, I don’t see him punching and kicking an aide.

Anyways, enough of my meanderings on the topic. Without further ado, introducing Bryan Stalder:

BryanStalderMy name is Bryan Stalder, and I’m running to be Kansas City’s 4th District At-Large representative on the City Council. The 4th District is kind of weird (it includes the Plaza, Westport, Crossroads, Downtown, the River Market, part of Northeast, Briar Cliff, and Crestview), but because I’m running at large, my role would be to represent citizens from the entire Kansas City area.

This is my first experience running for a public office. I’ve been a stay at home dad, an editorial cartoonist for the community newspaper, and president of our neighborhood association. I chose to take on this challenge because I’m frustrated with the leadership of this city, disappointed with most of the reporting about what is going on, and discouraged by the level of apathy from the voters. It is my hope that I could bring accountability back to City Hall by asking questions that many journalists aren’t asking. I want to make it hard for the media to ignore what is going on.

City Hall makes decisions that directly affect the quality of life in our neighborhoods, and a lot of the money we pay for city services is being used to redevelop downtown Kansas City into a dense neighborhood that is incongruent with the lifestyle accommodations of the traditional family. The result is higher taxes, and Kansas City residents who are trying to raise a family choosing to relocate outside city limits. Even worse, we have seen a decline of jobs in downtown Kansas City by up to 20% over the last decade despite over $1B in redevelopment. I believe these decisions will have a negative economic impact on our region. They will create more challenges before we’ve even created solutions for our currently unresolved problems.

I am someone who is not afraid to challenge conventional wisdom. I may be the youngest candidate running in this election, but as a father of four who is raising a family in Northeast and educating them in the Kansas City Public Schools, I have an alternative perspective to offer those who would rubber stamp an agenda to provide more and more subsidies to large real estate developers downtown. I’ve created a plan to make Kansas City EPIC; by focusing on Education, Parks, and InterConnectivity. We can shift our focus toward creating communities that families are excited to make long term investments in. I hope that you will follow the upcoming municipal elections closely, learn more about all of the At-Large candidates, and consider voting for me.

Please follow me on Twitter: @StalderEsq, or email me at StalderEsq@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

